Pearl of Wisdom

'Haste causes stumbling.'

Imam Ali ibn Abi Talib [as]
Ghurdr al-Hikam, no. 432

Latest Answers

Receive Qul Updates


Ask Qul - QA
Question : #223 Category: Food & Drinks
Subject: gelatin foods
Question: What is your ruling on having foods that contain gelatin?
Answer: It is permissible to eat gelatin if one doubts whether it has been extracted from an animal or vegetable. But, if it is known that it was derived from an animal, then it is not permissible to eat without ascertaining that the animal was slaughtered according to sharí‘a. This prohibition applies, as a matter of obligatory precaution, even if it was extracted from animal bones.

Of course, if a chemical change occurs in the original ingredients during the process of manufacturing the gelatin, there is no problem at all in eating it. Similarly, even if one has doubt whether the animal was slaughtered Islamically or not, still there is no problem in adding the gelatin [made from that animal] to the food in such a minute amount that it is completely absorbed in it.

If you require further clarification on this answer, please use the feature to respond to the stated answer.
Copyright © 2016 Qul. All Rights Reserved.
Developed by B19 Design.