Pearl of Wisdom

'The bane of piety is lack of contentment.'

Imam Ali ibn Abi Talib [as]
Ibid. no. 3935

Latest Answers

Receive Qul Updates


Ask Qul - QA
Question : #180 Category: Miscellaneous
Subject: what does the 5 rules mean?
Question: What does Halal, haram, makroh and etc - those 5 rules all mean in English?
Answer: 1. Halal refers to any object or an action that is permissible to use or engage in.

2. Mustahab refers to recommended, favored or virtuous actions. Duties that are recommended, but not essential, whereas the fulfillment of which is rewarded but neglected without punishment.

3. Mubah refers to an action that is neither forbidden not recommended, and is considered neutral.

4. Makruh refers to something which is disliked or an offensive act - literally 'hated' - but it is not a sin to commit, but is rewarded if abstained from.

5. Haram refers to anything that is prohibited by the word of Allah in the Quran or Hadiths. Haram means forbidden or sacred.

If you require further clarification on this answer, please use the feature to respond to the stated answer.
Copyright © 2024 Qul. All Rights Reserved.
Developed by B19 Design.